Winning short films to be broadcast on BBC ALBA

As tension builds with the deadline fast approaching BBC ALBA have announced that three of last year’s winning FilmG films will be broadcast on the channel over the festive period.

Year on year the quality of entries to MG ALBA’s Gaelic Short Film Competition have improved, and due to the high standard of productions for the second consecutive year, films are to be shown to the public.

One of the short films to be shown will be the thought-provoking ‘Coig Puing a’ Trì’ (Five Point Three) by rising star Lana Pheutan, which tells the story of a transgender woman and her relationship with her family and herself.

Alongside a range of lucrative prizes for winners of the various categories, the opportunity to be broadcast on a UK-national channel provides a fantastic incentive for those considering to enter the unique competition.

The deadline for entries to the 2018/19 competition is on 14 December. 

Project Manager Floraidh Forrest said:

“We’ve had filmmakers planning, shooting and editing winning films over a weekend before, so a month is definitely enough time to make a top-class film! As ever we have fantastic prizes on offer and not only is FilmG an excellent platform in itself for up and coming filmmakers, but getting a film broadcast on a BBC channel is an incredible opportunity and amazing exposure.”

Among the prizes on offer this year in the Open Category is £2,500 towards training, equipment or a media project for the Best Industry Director under 30; there is a £1,000 prize for the Best Student Film; and a placement with BBC The Social for the winner of the Best Mobile Short. 

In the Youth Category there are also fantastic prizes up for grabs with £1,000 for the Best overall Film, £500 for the Best Young Filmmaker and £250 for the Best Mobile Short. Youngsters can enter films themselves, or as part of their school with High Schools that offer Gaelic as a subject taking part in workshops offered by the FilmG team.

This week workshops are taking place at Kilmarnock Academy, Tobermory High School, Castlebay High School, The Nicolson Institute and Bishopbriggs Academy.

A full list of the prize categories and information about the awards can be seen at